This selection of watercolor paintings by Mary Ann Judd Johnson showcases historic business buildings in Lehi and American Fork, Utah. Many of the buildings have been demolished, so the artworks serve as their only representations. Others have been repurposed for interesting new means and some serve as a reminder of the city's beginnings.
Originally built in 1882 near the railroad, it was among one of the first Old West stores built in the city of Lehi. It stayed open throughout the Great Depression, two World Wars, and the recent growth in Lehi, but unfortunately was closed in 2017.
Lehi Commercial and Savings Bank
This bank was built in 1891 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It was rumored to be haunted, but was torn down in 2010 due to its deteriorated condition.
Lehi Roller Mills
One of the most iconic buildings in Utah, Lehi Roller Mills was built in 1906. It is still located at 833 E Main St, Lehi, UT 84043. This watercolor is one of many that Johnson created of Lehi Roller Mills. The building was made famous by its inclusion in a 1984 American movie "Footloose." It serves as part of the backdrop of the main actor's iconic dance scene.
Lehi Roller MIlls ('97) (1997) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
Lehi Roller Mill (2001) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
Another of a series of depictions of Lehi Roller Mills. What historic businesses or buildings do you have in your home town?
Lehi Roller Mills in Storm
Lehi Roller Mills used to be surrounded by fields of glorious golden wheat. The city has experienced a great amount of growth in the last decade, and this watercolor serves as a reminder of how Lehi once was a settlement of small rural farmlands.
Lehi Roller Mills (2000) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
A good depiction of the Roller Mills, once surrounded by wheat fields.
3D Model of Lehi Roller Mills (2004) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
A 3D Model of the historic Roller Mills, housed in the museum.
Star Flour Mill
The Star Flour Mill is a historic old West building created in 1888 by the Chipman Mercantile Company and was continuously operated until 1979. It fell into disrepair, but fortunately now has a new lease on life as an office building and reception center. It is still standing at 147 East 600 North, American Fork, UT.
Sugar Factory which was built in 1891. Once located at 900 East 700 South, Lehi UT. All that remains of it today is the 184 foot smoke stack which is the town’s tallest landmark along with the 1914 built warehouse and coal pits. Some of the brick was used to create the Joseph Smith Memorial Building on the Brigham Young University campus in Provo, UT.
Some businesses can be repurposed. For example, this building once was a creamery located near Utah Lake, but was remodeled into a home. It is still located at 2145 West 700 South Lehi, UT. How would you feel about remodeling a church or a business into your family home?
The Racker Mercantile (2005) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
The Racker Mercantile is now a restored reception center called the Colonial House. The Racker Mercantile was built in 1904. Located at 200 West Main Street Lehi, UT.
This building once served as a site to illegally create whiskey during the USA's prohibition which spanned from 1920 to 1933. Located at 605 West State Street Lehi, UT. The building is currently standing.
Lehi Block Company
Like many of the early businesses in Lehi, the Lehi Block Company was a family run company built in 1945. Art Powell was the founder, and worked tirelessly to create concrete blocks and other building materials. His children now run the company, and it is still running at 2200 North 1200 West, Lehi UT.
Cannery and Cereal Mill (1991) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
A Cannery and Cereal Mill built in 1914. Once located at 300 North 450 West Lehi, UT. Unfortunately, it was demolished.
Johnson's General Store
The Charles L Johnson General Store was built in 1917. They serviced the railroad workers that lived near the station by providing fresh baked bread brought by rail from the capital of the state of Utah, Salt Lake City. Although it closed in the 1950's, the lonely, vacant store is still located at 2005 Railroad St Lehi, UT as a reminder of when the Lehi Junction was a commercial center.
Lehi Brick Plant
The Lehi Brick Plant was built in 1942, and has continued to run to today. It is the only silica brick manufacturing company in the Western Hemisphere. Utah is nicknamed the "beehive state." Following suite the plant has six large beehive shaped kilns. The plant can still be seen at 2200 North 1200 West, Lehi, UT.
Creamery by Utah Lake (1997) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
Creamery by Utah Lake. It has unfortunately been demolished.
4th Ward Store
Like many of these historic businesses, the 4th Ward Store was a family run business. They offered all varieties of food and supplies and was started at about 1930. Back then, they were opened from 7 AM to 10 PM and still had people knocking on their doors after hours. It was located right across from the Primary and Grammar schools, so many children would visit during lunch and after school.
The Morgan Home and Dress Shop (1993) by Mary Ann Judd JohnsonHutchings Museum Institute
The Morgan Home and Dress Shop still located at 270 East Main Street Lehi, UT.
Paintings are owned and copyrighted to the Hutchings Museum in Lehi, Utah.
Broadbents Store information from: https://www.heraldextra.com/business/local/iconic-broadbent-s-store-closes-in-lehi/article_5b60b02f-3789-51c6-b3b1-bea9b26f3c51.html
Star Flour Mill information from: http://www.thecrossroadsjournal.com/Historic-mill-to-get-a-new-lease-on-life.html
Johnson's General Store Information: https://www.lehi-ut.gov/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/JohnsonGeneralStore.pdf
Lehi Brick Plant information: https://www.lehifreepress.com/2019/02/22/lehi-brick-business-have-been-keeping-it-hot-for-over-70-years-3000-degrees-hot/
4th Ward Store Information: https://www.lehi-ut.gov/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/FourthWardStorebyLeoandEdnaLoveridgeprint.pdf